[Eng Trans] Bambam’s Interview in Hamburger #26

Source: HAMBURGER Magazine 26th issue (http://hamburger-magazine.com/issue26.html)

Eng Trans: wirunchia

  • Please take it out with full credits.
  • Sorry if there’re some mistakes. My English is not that good. o<-<
  • I didn’t translate his mom’s part.
  • ENJOY!

 

HAMBURGER Magazines 26th issue

HAM INTERVIEW:

WHATEVER IT TAKES

Story: Kao Meenanon, Photo: Nattapon Wutthipet, Stylist: Thitikarn Kanjanapakdee

 

Just only a day that Bambam – Kanpimook Bhuwakul came back to Thailand for his personal business during GOT7’s Japan tour. There were few minutes before he headed back to South Korea, a pretty Thai boy had to meet up with HAMBURGER. Bambam said that he was so excited today, because this was going to be his first time to have a solo shooting with Thai magazine. And we would like to said that we came up with full options. Not only a cool fashion style, but we also brought many trendy things about Bambam’s life, including his favorite things after he became 20 years old (Korean age), which he and his members had been waiting for!

Q: Let’s start to know your favorite, interesting things around yourself by your recent bed sheets, which pattern and color now?

BB: Now it’s white, and there are blue lines cross the sheet. It’s single-bed size. Except a pillow, I have another blue pillow. And I like silky fabric, since I was a child I liked to rub my hands on a blanket like this (acts). So I have to use only silky fabric, hardly use rough fabric or some stuff like that.

Q: When you choose your stuff, do you choose it by yourself or it’s okay if other buy it for you?

BB: I choose it by myself. Usually, I always choose my stuffs by myself. I hardly listen to other if they tell me anything. If I like it, if I’m happy to use it, that will be ‘The Best’ for me.

Q: How did your roommate (Jackson Wang) use to comment about your bed sheets?

BB: No, no! Never! Because my bed maybe the most beautiful bed in the room. (laugh) Others’ beds may use the blue bed sheet, green blanket, and red pillow, like they just use what they have. It doesn’t match. But mine is in the same set, so when I sleep I will be so happy. (smile)

The next is about your recent pajamas which you wearing when you got out from your room this morning

BB: I wore sweatpants I bought from a convenient store in Japan, and a black vest. My clothes I wearing when I sleeping is mostly sweatpants, because it makes me feel comfortable. Or maybe Thai-style trousers that you can find it when you travel to the mountain, I like them so much and I has all colors of them.

Q: Thinking about Bambam, what do you think your roommate will think about?

BB: Maybe about music, because I always turn up the music loudly, when I take a bath, sleeping, or whenever I do anything. Sometimes he was annoyed but I didn’t care. (laugh) When there’s music, there’s an atmosphere, so I like to turn it up.

Q: What was the latest song you turn up in your room? Whose song?

BB: The latest song? It’s Pillow Talk by Zayn Malik the ex-member of One Direction who just composed his solo album. I like it because I mostly like kind of R&B and Hip-Hop, but when I sleep I prefer more chilling song.

Q: How was the recent temperature in Japan when you left and come here?

BB: During our recent Japan tour, it was about -11 degrees celsius.

Q: Give me a name of your favorite Japanese food through Japan tour.

BB: I like Ramen. I like the atmosphere of the restaurant that it’s not a table which we have to sit together, but it’s a table for a person. When ordering, they will let us to mark what you want in menu, how many coriander you want to eat? How many chilly? I like that I can choose spicy level, from 1-20, I usually choose level 8. About the noodle, I choose the middle, not to smooth or too rough, and add more 2 slices of Cha-shuu meat.

Q: What kind of shoes you usually wear, if you choose it by yourself?

BB: I like a kind of long pointed and high-heel shoes, because I don’t like to look similar (laugh). I can remember that when I first wore that kind of shoes, I wore it when recording a Korean TV show. But when I was there, I felt like many people wore the same style shoes and I didn’t want to wear like them. Then I began to buy shoes that their tips are longer and higher heels. Recently, GOT7 had performed in GTH STAR THEQUE concert, I wore the 8-inches high heels. (laugh)

Q: You are so picky, aren’t you? It seems like you pick everything in your life.

BB: Just a little. If it’s not ‘The Best’ for me, I prefer to don’t have it.

Q: If that means to everything in your life?

BB: Almost, it includes my clothes, bed sheets, even songs, like lyrics. When JYP sent me music and I had to write lyrics, if the lyrics was not really ‘The Best’, I would say that I didn’t do it good enough in this time. It would be better to let others do that. Also choreograph, I probably can control everything, but if I saw some points that was not good, I will try to tell JYP that the choreograph in this part is not okay, it’s not ‘The Best’. If it’s not good, it’s better to change. I don’t want incomplete things. If I do something, I want it to be the best.

Q: So, do you think how good (they use ‘best’) you are now?

BB: I don’t know (laugh). This question is hard to answer. I’m not sure that how good I am, or how perfect I am. One exactly things is I am not a perfect guy, at least I’m a kind of person who try to do the things I want to do with my best.

Q: What is your worst habit or your imperfection you want to improve the most in this time?

BB: I’m a picky, and this habit has both good and bad effect to work. Because something I probably let it go. If it doesn’t ‘The Best’, I can fix it and improve it to another things. But I’m not good in doing such a thing.

Q: Since you debuted as a member of GOT7, which song was the best song for you group in your opinion?

BB: It’s probably If You Do. Because costume, choreograph, even music style, we designed them all by ourselves. All the things is what GOT7 wanted to do since we debuted, but we just didn’t have a chance to do those things in that time.

Q: Tell us about your interesting that can tell us what you really are

BB: It’s probably about music first, because it is my career. So I have to listen to the variety genre of music. Sometimes I don’t like it but I have to listen to absorb them into my mind, because when I write lyrics, it used many things. Another one maybe about costume, when I go outside, if my costume is not perfect, I can’t go anywhere. (laugh)

Q: So you are a kind of person who took so long time to dress?

BB: About 1 hour. I also take a bath so long too, around 40 minutes. A costume is how to make you good looking, smart, or clean so I pretty take care of this thing.

Q: How many times did you change your hair style per a year?

BB: Oh… I often changed it. (laugh) Actually, if there’s no work I’m not gonna change my hairstyle but work kept coming to us, so I have to keep changing my hairstyle. For example, last year, I started with black hair until May I changed to yellow-brown hair and then became red for 2 months, then I had a stage in GTH STAR THEQUE, which the theme was kind of space and galaxy so I changed to grey hair and then kaki, and brown-green. Now my hair is little bit rough and dry so I turned back to black. (laugh)

Q: It seems like you have fun with your hair style

BB: Yes. I think there’s a frame when er try to do something, but if we care that frame too much, life can’t make anything happens. If I want to wear yellow trousers with a purple shirt, many people would ask me, they may warn me that is that good? They don’t match, do they? Or if I want to wear green trousers, maybe somebody says that it’s not beautiful.

If we care those words, we can’t get out from the closet. But if we don’t care much, just think that we just want to wear like this, I just like this, life will be no limit. Do whatever you want. I think it’s better, maybe it doesn’t okay but we had tried. Someday you will find what suit yourself.

Q: You’re so confident. Have you ever believed if people told you that what you liked  was not okay?

BB: Sometimes I hesitated. But I didn’t want to regret. If I went in the clothes shop and I found a pair of shoes that I felt I really want it, but my friend told me that it’s not nice, okay, so I wasn’t gonna take it. But after I got out from the shop and headed back to Korea, I missed it, I thought I should buy it but I couldn’t go back. I maybe a confident guy but sometimes I could be like that kind of person.

Q: Do you think you’re good in shopping?

BB: Just a middle, I think. (laugh) I’m not a kind of person who go though all shops and find what I want, what’s new, but I will search in the internet at home, find what I really interested. Then I make a decision to buy this thing and go to the shop and take it. If there’s not the thing I want, I will not buy anything.

Q: What kind of stuff you often buy?

BB: Shoes. Because there are many colors. Or kind of clothes, it depends on a season. Normally, in Korea, if it’s in summer, we have to find stuffs for winter, and then in winter we must find stuffs for summer, so when the season changes we will have clothes to wear.

Q: Which season that make you have fun in dressing the most?

BB: It’s spring. But there’s no spring in Thailand. (laugh) I think spring is between winter and summer. We can wear just a t-shirt or a long sleeve shirt with a jacket. We can wear whatever and it doesn’t look too much. I think it’s lovely.

Q: When you head back to Thailand, what kind of costume you always set for?

BB: Oh… I’ve set before I heading back for 3 months. (laugh) Like if I bought a shirt and intended to wear it in Thailand. During the 3 months, I never wear that shirt, because I didn’t want to show that I have that shirt.

Q: The stuff which you think you use it so worthy

BB: This black trousers I’m wearing now. I often wear it, almost everyday. I’ve bought it for a year and half but never watched it. (laugh) I don’t usually wash my trousers, just use perfume, because if I wash it, the color will be faded. Trousers have their own natural creases, if I watch it, those creases will be gone. But I don’t wear it that much, just 4 days a week. (laugh)

Q: What is your dream (highest goal) now?

BB: I don’t know… (think) Let’s begin with my dream in Thailand. Actually, I like fashion so I want to change Thai fashion a bit. I just want people to think that Thai people can wear this style, because some people afraid of some costumes don’t appropriate. I think it’s just to choose the stuff that can match with.

Q: Have you ever wanted to be a designer?

BB: Yes, I have. When we’re going to have a new album, I always draw some pictures and let our stylist see that I want this style.

Q: About your perfume, what kind of perfume you’re using?

BB: I used to use women fragrance, I didn’t like men fragrance. But now I have changed my mind, I can use both. And nowadays my hair style is down the center, so fans told me that I looked manly. So I changed my fragrance to be more manly, it’s like I change some kind of this thing when I change my hairstyle. It depends on my appearance.

Q: So usually, fans tell about you like you look so child?

BB: Fans always tell me that I’m cute like a child, they mostly say that. I hardly heard words like I was handsome.

Q: And you don’t like to be called a child, do you?

BB: Actually, first time I wanted to be handsome and cool, but why everybody looked at me and said I was so cute, looked like a kid. I didn’t know. But now, I think it’s not that bad, because someday I may look so handsome and another day will be cute, it can be both styles. Some people who are so manly, he’s actually can be cute, it always looks handsome. I must grow up, my face will be older, those cuties will be gone someday.

Q: Do you think what you will be in the next 20 years? Will you still be so cute like now?

BB: The next 20 years… I wonder if that time where I will be. If I will be in Thailand, I probably look more manly because that kind of boys Thai people like, many, cool, something like that.

Q: Could you tell us about your first year in Korea, do you remember that moment?

BB: That time, actually it was so fun. The only thing that made me so tired was I couldn’t speak English, also Korean, Chinese, and Japanese. I couldn’t communicate with anyone. But it might be because I was the youngest, I was so small, I was just 13 years old in that time. So I probably couldn’t talk to other but all older guys took care of me. They tried to communicate with sign language, all the ways they tried to speak with me. And they took care me so good, like when we would have a meal, they would call my name ‘Bambam’ and then grabbed my hand to bring me with them.

Actually, before I went there I was so scared. Because I’d never been alone, and I was a kind of mama’s boy. I though if I couldn’t be there, but when I was there, it was not that hard. I just was in my room, went to practice in the time, studied, did my duties.

Q: So in early time you were in Korea, you could speak only Thai?

BB: I think this is the good point to study over books or in class, it’s language. Early time, I couldn’t speak Korean so I had to start speaking English with foreigners. And then I used English to learn Korean because Korean teacher could speak English, when I was a little fluent in Korean, I used it to learn Chinese, and used Chinese to learn Japanese. It’s step by step.

Q: To go to Korea to become an artist seems like you have to leave many things, especially your normal childhood

BB: Problems are not much. The only thing was my education that I had to drop for a while. But now I’m studying. And I lost my childhood, when I watched a children movie I felt like, what? Why I didn’t have a time like that? Because I’ve worked since I was 13. My friends in Thailand are not many too, because I’ve been in Korea since I was a kid. Sometimes I felt pity but a chance in that time was so important, if I didn’t decide to go to Korea, I might never have a chance. But I think it’s better to choose this way. To play like a child I can do it whenever I want, when I’m older I still can play. It’s not too late.

Q: It was said that to be a trainee in Korea was so difficult, hard practicing. For 13-year-old boy in that time, how were you? Was it so difficult like that?

BB: The difficult thing was not to hard practicing until you couldn’t eat or sleep, but it meant about a high competition. But I went there when I was 13 so I was in young group. And that time there was no one who was in the same age as me, my rivals were not many. But when I saw 17-18-year-old boys, oho… They were so competitive and sometimes they had a fight. Normally, we were together peacefully but when the test came, that guy tried to be better than this guy, this guy wanted to be better than another guy. Because of this thing, many people think that to be a trainee in Korea is so difficult, I think we should be self-contained.

When I looked other older guys practicing, I thought it’s about 60% intensity, but when it was before the time I debuted with GOT7, JYP had a project, trainees had to form teams to sing, or sometimes there would be a competition. In that time I was 17 (Korean age). But I was still the youngest. Other boys were 21-22. I was so stressed but I tried to be fun and enjoyed with things I liked. If I couldn’t do that, that’s it. All things that happened would be my experience. When I thought in this way, I think it’s better to work, practice, even to write lyrics is faster.

Q: What do you think that make you go through that time, when you just a kid, to a present day?

BB: My family was a part of it. But when I was in that place I had to fight alone, by myself. I believed that I was the best, be confident. Actually, I was not a perfect guy, or better than anyone, but I was sure that I was gonna do the thing that I love, I really wanted to be good in it. So I could do it. The word ‘there’s a will, there’s a way’ is true.

Q: What’s the best thing to be a youngest in group?

BB: Actually, there’s no ‘Hyung’ or ‘Maknae’ in the group now. Everyone is equal. In the team, there’re 3 foreigners, Me from Thailand, Mark from LA, USA, and Jackson from Hong Kong. When we’re together, I have learnt like American concept because when we three were together, we usually speak in English. So the 4 Koreans have learnt American culture too. And it made us not have to call ‘Hyung’, we’re friends.

Q: If tomorrow all your memories about being an artist will have to be erased, and you have to go back to your home by choosing only one memory in Korea. What is the moment you will bring it back to your home with you?

BB: Can I pick 2 memories? The first one is the moment when GOT7 won the first in music show with the song If You Do. This moment just happened last year. In that time, I was so happy, because we have been practicing so much more than a year. And when everything we have tried brought us to won the first prize, it’s really feel so good.

The second one is my growth, my age. I have to explain that in Korea, when it’s after the midnight of December 31st, if you are 19, you will be suddenly 20 without waiting for your birthday. And that day, at that time, GOT7 was working through the year, when people were counting down on the stage (laugh). My members are more than 20 year-old. They all have been waiting for 3 years, because if they go out to the party, I have to be lonely at the house. (**he said ‘house’ not ‘a dorm’, maybe he already think it’s his house too lol)

When I was 20, everyone also passes their 20th year, we went out to celebrate New Year at Bulgogi restaurant. We ate, played and talked. It was so fun. Because we could be late at night as much as we wanted, that meant I became my legal age. That time is so precious to me.

Q: Tell us about your plan in this year

BB: GOT7 has Japan tour 2 times, now the latest tour has finished. There’s gonna be a comeback with the new album. I want everyone to follow and support, because we’re gonna have tours in many cities and many countries in Asia, including Thailand. Especially in here, there will be some special things. I want everyone to keep looking forward. And we have talked with our company about tours in Europe, but it’s not certain. it has to be looked forward.

Q: Now Bambam maybe an idol for some fans who has dreamed to be artists, please tell them some tips to be like you

BB: Like I said that no one has their own frame. I want everyone to be diligent. Not only about being artists, but anything. Just do it your best. If you try, I believe that you will be successful. Sometimes you maybe tired, disappointed, but if you give up, life won’t finish.

Q: May we have your keywords?

BB: I keep using this word, YOLO—You only live once. It means we have just one life, and I agree with that. We have just one life, there might be some mistakes, like me, I’ve done many mistakes and I’ve learned from them. When I made a mistake, I will be so depressed and paranoid, like everything in the wold is so boring. But a week later, I will recovered myself and realized that why I had to be paranoid. Just thought that they all were lessons to make me grow up.

Q: The last question before we leave, if you can choose a question to ask your member, which question will be?

BB: I choose the question about if I have to erase my memory about being in Korea and being GOT7, which one memory I want to keep it. I want to know what kind of memory they will choose.

One Comment

  1. I got this web site from my pal who told me on the topic of this web site and now this time I am browsing this website and reading very informative articles at this place.

    Reply

Leave a comment